Improve my mowing? B7500 + Gearmore rotary mower

/ Improve my mowing? B7500 + Gearmore rotary mower #1  

OldNOrnery

Tractor
Kubota B7500 JD X500 JD570 JD 3320
I've searched these forums and even RTFM, but I need voices of experience. This is a tractor question combined with an attachment question.

I'm new to tractor ownership and just finished my first season mowing our 15 acre place in the northern California coastal hills with a used Kubota B7500 + Gearmore rotary mower that I got from my brother. I mow for fire and tick suppression. The B7500 has R1 ag tires and a FEL that I've left attached for now. Our place is hilly, full of obstacles along with grasses that grow thick and 6 feet tall by the time it's dry enough to mow. Most of the area was a terraced hay field long ago, with the terraces wider (60"?) than my 48" deck and with elevation differences between terraces. I've used an ATV-drawn brushhog (hate that machine) and a JD X500 all terrain with mower deck for mowing this property for 5 years. I still use the JD close to the house, for the really steep parts, around obscured culverts/ditches, and close to fence before I head out with the B7500. The JD bogs down in the heavy grass, kills my back and spews mulch in a cloud I don't need to breathe.

Using the Kubota B7500, I have to mow in granny gear, i.e.2nd gear low at best. The mower just doesn't cut cleanly in 3rd gear even going downhill with the rpm's at the pto indicator line. The mower can handle the mass and height of the grasses in 2nd, but it's sloooowww going. I walk faster than I can mow. I have to constantly adjust the mower height over uneven surfaces and in turns. I'm not looking for a lawn cut, but I'm constantly raising and lowering the mower for turns in many places and uneven ground.

So here're my questions: