Aftermarket Cab Pricing

/ Aftermarket Cab Pricing #1  

jambx

Gold Member
Tractor
B2920 TLB, ZD21-60P, 1949 US Baird Beaver
I guess my rant is to just see if I am the only one that thinks that cabs are awesome but appear to be very expensive for the return most get out of them.

I have been interested in these recenlty for the winter time (carhart is not cutting it anymore) for plowing and general use etc but I am not happy about the price point.

I did speak to a factory sales person (from one of the more popular brands) and he stated that they shoot for a price that is 1/5th the cost of the tractor itself. Being that I have little experience with these aftermarket cabs it is very hard for me to accept the fact that the going rate for one of these for a compact tractor is approaching $4000. I am not saying they are not worth it but the price point in my head for such a luxury was more in the $2500 - $3000 range.

This pricing model also reminds me of core aerator prices which are very expensive for what otherwise I feel is not a lot of engineering.

I would think the likes of Sims, Curtis others would do very well for a stripped down version. :thumbsup:

Is it me or does this product pricing seem kind of steep?..:confused:

/ Aftermarket Cab Pricing #2  
I started shopping for a cab for my B2400 and that's exactly what made me buy a B3030 with a factory cab. At first it seemed relatively affordable, but once you realize that literally everything is an option, you might as well get a tractor with a factory cab. I figured that once I added a few things that I felt were needed...... headliner, front work lights, heater, i was within a thousand dollars of what the factory optional cab was and the aftermarket had no A/C . The fit and finish was not even in the ballpark, and from what I could tell, little payback when it came time to sell or trade. For me it didn't add up.

/ Aftermarket Cab Pricing #3