Mowing Mower gear lube

/ Mower gear lube #1  

vettman

It's time to change the lube in the mower gear box on my ZD 326. Manual calls for 90-wt. oil. I'm having trouble finding any single wt. gear oil, so was wondering if it would be okay to use 80-90w oil. Anyone care to share an opinion?

Thanks

/ Mower gear lube #2  
I'm no Lubrication Engineer like many on TBN but I believe you'll be fine with the 80/90. I used 80-140 on my F3080 deck,
I believe the gears are bathed in oil and I believe the important factor is the gears stay lubricated and don't run dry and I believe about any lubricant will work as long as it is keeping the gears lubricated.
I hope my beliefs are right and that my equipment will continue to operate for many more years with the lubrication that I have been using and plan to continue using.
Now you and I will hear from the Lubrication Engineers as to the error or correctness of my beliefs.:)

/ Mower gear lube #3  
It's very hard to find single weight gear oils any more (at least at the places I frequent)....on my MMM the manual also called for 90 weight, I went with 80-90 gear oil. As I recall, the front axle also was spec'd for 90 weight and I used 80-90 there as well. Did your gear box have the drain plug cleverly position right over the drive belt? I had to remove my belt just to avoid getting it soaked with the oil I was draining :confused2:.

/ Mower gear lube
Yep, the drain plug is directly above the belt. How much would it have cost to put a short right-angle adapter at the drain to direct the used oil to an area where it could be collected without a mess. Think I might just buy some of those oil soaking pads, and let it drain on the pad.

Based on feedback from you pros, I will drain and refill with Valvoline 80-90W.

/ Mower gear lube #5