Removing fence posts

/ Removing fence posts #1  

chi6488

Getting my mx5100 hst in about a week. First order of business will be to widen the entrance gate to the property.

I dropped off the travel trailer saturday and barely made it through the gate b/c I did not have room to straighten out the trailer much after the left turn.

I was thinking either chain to fel or drawbar and chain with 3 point hitch. I hear the 3 point has more lifting power.

I need to do this soon to get my boat through the gate. The boat is wider than travel trailer and the boat trailer itself is longer than the travel trailer.

I think the gate post has cement and I doubt the other posts would have cement.

Anyone tried this with this size tractor?? I am new to all this farm stuff and this is my first time using a tractor.

/ Removing fence posts #2  
Chain and 3 pt hitch should do it. bump the post and rock it to loosen if necessary.

/ Removing fence posts #3  
I'd wiggle it back and forth using the FEL and then chain it to the 3PT hitch. Lift up and drive forward. If it won't lift push it around some more with the FEL and try again.. Good luck.

/ Removing fence posts #4  
Congrats on the new MX5100, nice tractor. Not really sure the best way to remove posts as I use my BH to these types of jobs. I am sure someone will chime in with which method is best.

/ Removing fence posts #5  
I haven't done it lately, but use to always use the 3PH with a horizontal drawbar and chains. I would certainly do it with the one in concrete; FEL might be OK depending on soil type/moisture and the size if the post. I pulled a cross tie we used as a post not long ago with the 5030 and FEL, but if I was going to do more, I would have dropped the cutter and used the 3PH.

/ Removing fence posts #6  
How about some more information. Is it a wooden gate post? chain link style pipe post? a simple T post? or something else?