Back hoe hose coupler problems

/ Back hoe hose coupler problems #1  

UWAdventurer

Silver Member
I am trying to hook my Woods 7500 back hoe up to my tractor and the hydraulic couplings are refusing to engage. The tractor is off, so there shouldn't be any pressure on the lines, correct? The female outer ring on the coupler is loose and working properly. My thoughts are that the O-ring is swelled and not allowing the coupling to engage far enough to lock. Can the O-rings be changed? If so does anyone know what size they are? Or does the whole coupling have to be changed, if so does anyone know what size they are? I don't know how to size them.

This is my second season with the tractor so I am still learning. Thanks for the help everyone.

/ Back hoe hose coupler problems #2  
wrap a rag around the male coupler , then smack it down on something hard [ on the tip ] to release pressure , i have to do that to mine once in a while .

/ Back hoe hose coupler problems #3  
I would try what toolbox is recomended. I have seen this happen before when the implement was unhooked with pressure on the lines or has settled and caused pressure to be on a line.
As far as the o ring, yes they can be changed. If you can find something like a dental pick these wok good to get under the o rings. I found mine at the napa store in a set of 4 some straight and some bent on the ends. They were around 4-5 dollars if I remember. Not sure on the o ring size. The Ag Supply did have a good assortment for around 20 dollars.

/ Back hoe hose coupler problems