Synthetic Oil at first 50 hour service?

/ Synthetic Oil at first 50 hour service? #1  

DieselDon

Tractor
B2620
After reading several, long oil threads, I studied the manual for my B2620 and am a bit stunned. The range of oil weight recommendations seems crazy.

I've owned 16 Mercedes diesels and 5 VW TDI's and never....never has 10w30 been part of the discussion. Yet there it is....as one of the recommended weights for the Kubota.

I want to go with Mobil 1, 5w40 as I use it in all my other diesels. Is Kubota just behind the times in avoiding the 'synthetic oil' discussion?

I have 51.0 hours and will change it tomorrow

Thanks

/ Synthetic Oil at first 50 hour service? #2  
DieselDon said:
After reading several, long oil threads, I studied the manual for my B2620 and am a bit stunned. The range of oil weight recommendations seems crazy.

I've owned 16 Mercedes diesels and 5 VW TDI's and never....never has 10w30 been part of the discussion. Yet there it is....as one of the recommended weights for the Kubota.

I want to go with Mobil 1, 5w40 as I use it in all my other diesels. Is Kubota just behind the times in avoiding the 'synthetic oil' discussion?

I have 51.0 hours and will change it tomorrow

Thanks

I use Mobil Turbo Diesel Truck 5w40 oil in my TDI's and my Deere. It will exceed the Kubota's oil requirements. Go for it and never look back. Now if it had five hours then the Mobil would be a mistake as the factory oil is designed for break-in.

/ Synthetic Oil at first 50 hour service? #3  
I use Mobil Turbo Diesel Truck 5w40 oil in my TDI's and my Deere. It will exceed the Kubota's oil requirements. Go for it and never look back. Now if it had five hours then the Mobil would be a mistake as the factory oil is designed for break-in.

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

/ Synthetic Oil at first 50 hour service? #4