BH77 - has anyone considered converting mechanical thumb to hydraulic?

/ BH77 - has anyone considered converting mechanical thumb to hydraulic? #1  

bandit67

Veteran Member
Tractor
2012 B3000 HSDCC 2020 Z251 Zero Turn
Title says it all.

I realize it may be an involved & expensive modification, but has anyone seriously considered doing this?

I can probably think of more cons to actually pulling it off, but not being a hydraulics expert, I know it's possible, but is it even worth further consideration?

/ BH77 - has anyone considered converting mechanical thumb to hydraulic? #2  
Title says it all.

I realize it may be an involved & expensive modification, but has anyone seriously considered doing this?

I can probably think of more cons to actually pulling it off, but not being a hydraulics expert, I know it's possible, but is it even worth further consideration?

I think yes. In fact, I posted the same question a while back (albeit for a BH76) but didn't get any response. I would like to convert my thumb to hydraulic simply because of the way I use it which is mostly (these days) picking up and bucking trees. It is a matter of convenience and want, I've found ways to work around a fixed position thumb.

/ BH77 - has anyone considered converting mechanical thumb to hydraulic? #3  
That would be really cool. I would love to do that to mine. I see they have a hydraulic thumb on some of the new Kubotas. Trying to remember what model it was.

/ BH77 - has anyone considered converting mechanical thumb to hydraulic? #4  
If I am correct (and I think I am) my dealer offered me a mechanical thumb or hydraulic thumb on my bh77 when I bought it in 2011. I didnt get either one (had already went over budget) but later after my purchase became interested and did research to find that it is offered and is pretty beneficial to those who would use it alot. Wish I had just a mechanical one myself! :confused3: