front tire roll-off question

/ front tire roll-off question #1  

lew61

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L4240HST
As a newbie, I've noticed a few references to front tires rolling off their rims and I'm wondering what steps, if any, can help prevent this. Also, what's involved in reseating a tire? Are there special tools I should have on hand? :confused3:

/ front tire roll-off question #2  
Proper inflation prevents it. A heavy duty ratchet strap tightened around the tread of the tire will make it easy to pump up if it comes off. A big air compressor helps.

Here is a video, the same work on a tractor tire.

/ front tire roll-off question
Ah, preventative maintenance. That's music to my ears. Thanks!:thumbsup:

/ front tire roll-off question #4  
Ah, preventative maintenance. That's music to my ears. Thanks!:thumbsup:

>Proper inflation (plus a few pounds more with a heavy load in front) has already been discussed.

>No sharp turns with a heavy load in the bucket.

>No sharp turns on hard ground - especially asphalt or concrete.

>Slow turns. Fast turns tend to increase the weight on the front outside tire and cause the sidewall to flex - possibly off the rim. It is just like a car cornering.

I've only had it happen once and thereafter have been very observant about the air pressure. Note that "heavy load on the bucket" is a prevalent factor.

/ front tire roll-off question #5  
Anyone use a bead sealer?

I noticed the tire shop used some on the last set of tires on the truck.

/ front tire roll-off question #7  
I used tubes. They stop the sudden loss of air if the bead is broken while doing any of the above mentioned items.

/ front tire roll-off question #8  
One other point besides what the others said. Watch out for low-cut stumps, large rocks sticking out of the ground or similar things that can catch a tire when you're turning. That's a pretty common problem with wheeled skid steers and also can get a tractor's fronts off their rims.