Tips on changig shearbolts 2750 blower

/ Tips on changig shearbolts 2750 blower #1  

rbarker

Veteran Member
Tractor
BX 25
Made it through the whole blizzard of 2013 with no problems but today on light clean up I picked up a stick and sheared the fan pin. I'm new to this blower but was smart enough to buy a dozen spare pins at the suggestion of the salesman and the good folks here on TBN. Unfortunately the bolt sheared off clean on both sides and I have no clue how to find the proper alignment in order to drive out the old bolt. I poked around in there with an awl while turning the fan and thought I might have found it but if it is then its not going to come out easily.

Any tips on how to accomplish this without deconstructing the blower and using all those words my Momma told me not to say?

Sent from my iPad using TractorByNet

/ Tips on changig shearbolts 2750 blower #2  
I use the pin from a door hinge to knock out the sheared bolt. I just do by feeling the shaft with the hinge pin as I rotate the the fan. Once I think I found it, I knock the pin with a hammer or wrench. With a little tapping the sheared pin works it way out, the hinge pin aligns the fan on the shaft ready to guide the new shearpin into place.

/ Tips on changig shearbolts 2750 blower #3  
My blower has a second hole in the shaft in front of the impeller that you can use to correctly postion the impeller.

/ Tips on changig shearbolts 2750 blower #4  
I did exactly what manawan suggested just yesterday. The hinge pin worked better than a drift for the application because of its' short length.

/ Tips on changig shearbolts 2750 blower #5  
My blower has a second hole in the shaft in front of the impeller that you can use to correctly postion the impeller.

Always wondered what the "extra" hole was for.

I use a drift to drive out the broken pin. No pun intended!

/ Tips on changig shearbolts 2750 blower