stump pulling

/ stump pulling #1  

Brimfield

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L 3800
Ok I am new to my L 3800 tractor and I have used the back hoe once to fill in a trench for propane lines. There is a large stump from a Maple at our Church, I think it is like 15" round. I was asked to pull it with my backhoe once the ground thaws. So this may sound silly but how big of a stump can I go after? I really hate to see the Church spend $$ on paying a stump grinder come in, we are not in a great financial state.

/ stump pulling #2  
You won't pull it. Maples have a prodigious root system. The hoe will dig it out, by cutting the roots. Then, you'll be able to extract the root ball.

Here's a silver maple 28 inches at the base.
DSCN0668.JPGstump 008.jpgDSCN0558.jpg

/ stump pulling #3  
Brimfield, You should not have a problem with a Stump that size. Just make sure the frost is gone and You should be Good to Go. I have a B9200 with a Backhoe which is about the size of Yours and have dug many stumps with it without any problems. Just go slow. Best of Luck..... Jeff

/ stump pulling #4  
I dug out a pine tree stump with my BX23 - which was for a tree that was probably 3ft in diameter at the base.

I had to pull it out in pieces - and we had gotten the stump ground first - which got most of the wood ground down and got it to a point where I could attack the roots. I ended up having to pull it out in pieces - and some of those roots were probably a good foot in diameter. I used to hoe to dig around the stump - expose the roots - and then try and pry the roots out one at a time. Another tool you might want to bring with you is a nice sharp axe - to hack away at the roots. I've heard people say they've used Sawzalls to cut roots - but for this tree that just didn't work ( I tried it).

You'll be a lot more successful in this endeavor if you're not afraid of making a big hole - you can always fill it in later.

/ stump pulling #5