Mowing New to tractor question (MMM or RMM)

/ New to tractor question (MMM or RMM) #1  

asuhurley

Tractor
Kubota B2320
First off, I'd like to say that I am new to tractors. This winter my family and I bought a relatively large land. It's about 50/50 woods and field. We rented most of the field to a cattle owner neighbour who will be in charge of collecting the hay and such. We kept an area to make ourselves a vegetable garden.

We just bought a Kubota B2320 with a front end loader (FEL), but I am not sure wether to get a mid mounted mower (MMM) or a rear mounted mower (RMM) or even a brush hog. For the foreseeable future we would use the mower to cut the field next to our garden and garage (not that big of an area, not a very rough terrain either).

Here is the thing, we would use the tractor in the woods also, so we need the extra clearance.

Is it harder/longer to remove the Kubota 60'' MMM when we need to go in the woods, than removing a rear attachement every time we want to work with the tractor (I believe we can't leave a rear attachement on all the time when working with the FEL, right?).

In a couple years, we might have some grass to cut on that property (but we would prefer not having to buy an other attachement) so taking that into account does that affect our choice?

Thank you for your time and answers!

/ New to tractor question (MMM or RMM) #2  
I went with a RMM just because I knew I would not want a MMM underneath when I did work in the woods. A RMM can easily be taken off. You will go back and forth 10 times over with your decision and will read many opinions on this forum. Ultimately, you will just have to give one a try. And the good thing about a quality RMM is that you can sell it if you don't like it much easier than a MMM.

/ New to tractor question (MMM or RMM) #3  
Welcome to TBN.

Sounds like my situation many years ago. I read between your posts lines and picked up on - field, FEL, clearance and woods.