Replacing fan belt on BX: if a 60-something nerd can do it, so can you

/ Replacing fan belt on BX: if a 60-something nerd can do it, so can you #1  

diggindoc

My BX24D developed a case of "the squealies" at 7 years / 400 hours, a loud squeal mostly on cold startups and growing gradually worse. Tightening the fan/alternator belt relieved it temporarily, but eventually I reached the end of the adjustment slot, so it was time to replace the belt. I'm a better nerd than I am a mechanic, but I did get through it, dusty but unharmed. I've appreciated help I've received on this forum, so I'm sharing my experience.

As the belt wears out, it doesn't stretch all that much, but it gets thinner and thinner, so it sits lower in the pulley grooves, which makes it looser. It may squeal like mine, but you might also see low/erratic tach readings, or overheating because the fan isn't being driven consistently. You can adjust the alternator to tighten the belt to the recommended tension, but eventually you come to the end of the slot. So here's a step-by-step procedure to replace the belt:

1. Tools you'll need: 17 mm open-end wrench for the alternator mounting bolts and nuts. 12 mm socket with a socket wrench and 4" or longer extension. Also round up a hefty 18" screwdriver or an iron bar 1/2" - 1" wide, at least 18" long. If you're working alone, you may need a C-clamp too. And finally, goggles for when you get under the tractor. And of course, you've made sure the engine has cooled off enough to work on.

2. Remove the engine enclosure (the manual describes that so I'm not going to), and find the upper alternator mounting bolt (photo below). Loosen it with the 17mm wrench. You don't have to take it completely out.

Alternator at extreme adjustment.JPG