Is it better to use gear oil or trans fluid in front axle of FWA Kubotas?

/ Is it better to use gear oil or trans fluid in front axle of FWA Kubotas? #1  

sixdogs

Super Star Member
Tractor
Kubota M7040, Kubota MX5100, Deere 790 TLB, Farmall Super C
I know this has been discussed before but I'm looking for sort-of a one word answer on whether it's better to use 80W90 gear oil or transaxle fluid in the front axle of Kubotas with front when drive. Which one? Kubota says you can use either.

They come from the factory with trans fluid yet most people I know seem to switch to gear oil on the presumed belief it offers greater protection during abuse and also is it less likely to leak. Suppose there's any basis for this or if it's true?

/ Is it better to use gear oil or trans fluid in front axle of FWA Kubotas? #2  
I'm not an engineer, but agree with the gear oil crowd. The synthetic HST trans oil Kubota now specs is good stuff, with price to match. It's designed for tight tolerances and being synthetic, lasts a long time, however it has relatively low viscosity. Generally speaking, the higher the viscosity the higher the film strength, both against metal to metal wear and shock loading. Synthetic gear oil with it's higher viscosity, seems to me, offers both higher film strength and more protection against high pressure metal to metal gear wear typically foundl in differentials, gears, and stuff like that :)

bumper

/ Is it better to use gear oil or trans fluid in front axle of FWA Kubotas? #3  
The Kioti forum is full of the same questions. The manufacture also spec's either fluid for the front axle. It is filled with hydraulic fluid from the factory. I put one of the approved hydraulic fluids back in it. Mobilfluid 424. If the manufacturer spec's either, I think either will work.:)

/ Is it better to use gear oil or trans fluid in front axle of FWA Kubotas?