Oil & Fuel Diesel vs Gas Engines

/ Diesel vs Gas Engines #1  

Charliebrn

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota BX-2360
In looking at various engines in various tractors and mowers, it seems strange to me that some much larger engines (gas, 25hp) are in very small garden tractors such as MTDs. Is there a difference in engines (besides longevity) between a diesel 22 hp and a 22hp gas? For example, my neighbor has a 25 hp craftsmen riding mower, and i have the much smaller 22 HP BX. I know the machine is a thousand times more useful in the Bota, but would that 25 HP gas engine in that thing out-perform the 22 in the Bota? Just looking at the sheer size difference of the engine block, the Bota D900 dwarfs the B&S 25...so what gives??? What piece of the puzzle am I missing? Are they rated differently? Please forgive my ignorance, I'm new to diesels. But I am learning to love the bucket of bolts sound... /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

/ Diesel vs Gas Engines #2  
So much has been discussed, sometimes producing hot arguments (not here, at another discussion group) over this subject: When are any two different engines actually equivalent, even when both are the same fuel-type? I cannot list all the factors (nor can I claim to know all of them), but a quick summary:

+ How horsepower is measured for small tractors is apples and oranges. At what RPM? Peak or continuous?
+ Just because an engine is rated at x-horsepower, doesn't mean it is actually delivered to where it is actually used (wheels, PTO).
+Torque does your work. Diesel engines tend to produce high torque at a lower RPM than gasoline. On the other extreme, electric engines can produce high horsepower (equivalent to wattage), but stink at torque (have an inability to overcome resistance).

The author of the Small Tractor FAQ has been sorting through this problem for some time. His analysis is currently in progress. You can read what has been written so far: http://www.andrew.cmu.edu/user/kb13/TF_home.htm.