BX25D engine brakign vid

/ BX25D engine brakign vid #1  

millsan1

Gold Member
Tractor
Mahindra 2538 Cab, Volvo ECR40D Excavator
In another thread there was a discussion re: whether or not the new BX series has engine or trans braking.

I am far from an expert and I can only speak to my BX, but the transmission or engine braking works just fine on mine.

This video show me driving my BX25D. I am running at 3,000 RPM, in high gear 2WD. The only thing I do is take my foot off the pedal and machine comes to a rapid stop, I would say with 25 feet.

/ BX25D engine brakign vid #2  
If it takes 25' to stop when pedal released it is NOT working right. It should stop within a few feet or less. What about in low at a low speed? How short is the stopping distance?

/ BX25D engine brakign vid
In low gear, or lower speeds, stop is almost instant. I rarely use the brakes themselves, except to hold myself in place. If I just let up on the pedal when working, the stop is abrupt.

I did this demo as a worst case scenario. Full speed, full throttle. 25' is 1 length from about 12 MPH. 25' is a guess on my part.

/ BX25D engine brakign vid #4  
Mine works about the same. When going backwards then release the pedal, the stop is immediate. When going forward, it seems to slowly slow down. Don't know if this is HST adjustment or pedal adjustment.

I used to use a New Holland. When you released the pedal, it stopped dead in its tracks... and would not move, even if pointed downhill. Wish my BX did that.

/ BX25D engine brakign vid #5  
In another thread there was a discussion re: whether or not the new BX series has engine or trans braking.

I am far from an expert and I can only speak to my BX, but the transmission or engine braking works just fine on mine.

This video show me driving my BX25D. I am running at 3,000 RPM, in high gear 2WD. The only thing I do is take my foot off the pedal and machine comes to a rapid stop, I would say with 25 feet.