New BX with drive-off mower deck

/ New BX with drive-off mower deck #1  

rjkobbeman

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota M8540HD-12 2010
All:

Don't know if anyone else reported on this, but I thought I would share what I saw today...

I was at my local Kubota dealer today and saw a new BX2670-1 with the new drive-off mower deck. The mechanic came out and did a demo for a prospective buyer.

I studied it a while and see how it all works. The tractor is unchanged -- the mower deck is the only difference. Well, the PTO shaft is different, but nothing else on the tractor. Basically, there is a sub-frame between the mower deck and the tractor. Think of it like a 3ph quick hitch. The sub-frame connects to the tractor via the normal lift arms and a slightly different nose piece. The mower deck has some pins that catch the sub-frame. The sub-frame has a mechanism to quickly release the deck. The sub-frame also has the pto shaft quick-release which disconnects the shaft from the gear box and not the tractor. (The pto shaft stays with the tractor and sub-frame when you drive off the deck.) There are also two sets of ramps that deploy (manually) that are mounted on top of the plastic outboard pulley guards. The two rear deck wheels get flipped up to take pressure off of them while driving off.

Here are my thoughts...

This drive-off deck -- for me anyway -- is strictly a "try to keep up with the competition" thing and doesn't really server much of a useful purpose. I can unhook my deck faster than the drive-off (when on a flat concrete floor anyway). For those that don't like to get off of the tractor and get on your knees, well this doesn't fix that. Nothing is done in the operator station -- everything still unhooks underneath. There are more steps to unhook this deck than the normal one... and you are still getting down on your kneed to unhook stuff.