Dirt Moving Tooth Bar Advice

/ Tooth Bar Advice #1  

siman00

Tractor
None
Hello all. I am the new owner of a used Kubota B2410. It has a 352 FEL and I'm trying to figure out what type of tooth bar, if any to use. I need to maintain about 1200 feet of mostly dirt driveway. The soil is a very sandy loam that has been packed tight and hard by years of traffic. There are shallow "ruts" where the wheels travel with grass in the area between the ruts.

I'm considering a Piranha tooth bar vs a more typical tooth bar. From what I can see, it appears that the Piranha tooth bar is best suited to remove heavy vegetation (which I do not have), while the more traditional tooth bar is better suited to aid in digging. I'm thinking I may be able to use the FEL to cut down the median and backpull that material to fill the ruts.

OR--- Should I forget a tooth bar entirely and get a box blade to use on the driveway?

I'm new to tractoring and will appreciate any help, advice or experience you can provide.

/ Tooth Bar Advice #2  
I think you would be best off with a back blade.

/ Tooth Bar Advice #3  
Sounds to me from your description that a land plane may be the best option...
Also a thought on tooth bars...they are great for digging into whatever (something the regular bucket edge is not good at)...but in the same respect a tooth bar is not good if you want to use the FEL to back drag over a worked area (smoothing effect)...something that is easy and quick to learn...where learning to do a similar function with a box blade can take more time to acquire the skill

/ Tooth Bar Advice #4  
My vote goes to a box blade for your application. A tooth bar isn't going to do much for you.

/ Tooth Bar Advice #5  
Box blade with rippers, very versatile. I did exactly what you are talking about in semi rocky shale and sandstone for an old strip mine road recently and was amazed at how well it smoothed it out.

/ Tooth Bar Advice #6