spreading small rock

/ spreading small rock #1  

David M

Tractor
Kubota BX2660
I was moving rock for a guy to put into his foundations with a BX2660. At the end, he asked me to spread the remainder of the pile around. All I had with me at the time was the loader. I gave it a shot and realized that would take a week. So I told the guy I'll have to come back with the box blade. He said, "Don't bother. I'll get a big unit out here to finish up." That kinda pissed me off. Was I justified in wanting to get the box blade to knock it out in an hour instead of a week? I AM rather new at that kind of work but it just seemed obvious to me. I wasn't going to charge him anything extra for YET ANOTHER trip for his add-on requests.

Opinions, please.

/ spreading small rock #2  
If I had a contractor tell me it would take 39 times longer to spread a pile of rock with a bucket VS a box blade on a 1 hour job, I’d be a little irritated as well. What kind of rock was it and how much are we talking about? Sounds like he wanted you out of there.

/ spreading small rock #3  
That's not how I would have interpreted what the owner said. My first thought would be that he saw that spreading the rock with a loader was going to be a struggle and felt guilty enough about all the previous unpaid "add-on requests" that he didn't want to add yet another one.

My second thought would have been that he saw that a loader wasn't quite the right tool for the job and figured that he would do better to wait and find someone with a loader and landscaping rock rake. And in that I agree with him. Stone and rock is difficult to spread out evenly and just about impossible to "fix" if I get it wrong.
A 3pt corral finish rake it the right tool and does a heck of a lot better job.

I hope this helps, not hurts. You did ask for opinions, David. I'm just saying that neither yours nor MossRoad's opinion would have immediately occured to me.