That unsettling knocking...

/ That unsettling knocking... #1  

Jackrabbit_Slim

Silver Member
Tractor
B2710
Have a used Kubota B2710 HST with 211 hrs. on the clock. Believe the original owner over filled the HST to just about twice the height called for on the dipstick. Haven't run yet, and won't 'til I get my fluids fixed up.

I'm new to this HST thing, and wonder if this might account for a knocking sound I hear from the rear end? Or is that normal?

Also wondering about oil filters. My dealer didn't have any in stock, so I went to UAP/Napa. Fellow sold me a filter that looks substantially shorter than what's on there now, but, in light of the HST situation, I'm not certain the right filter is on there now.

Would appreciate any observations/advice. Thanks.

/ That unsettling knocking... #2  
I have a B2910 that is almost 2 years old and has 331 hours on it. I don't hear any knocking sounds...

Maybe you should order filters from tractorsmart.com if you dealer doesn't have them. Why take a chance with something that might not do the job properly?

I am not sure if over filling would cause harm or not. Maybe someone else can comment on that.

Hope all turns out well with your tractor...again, no knocking sound from the rear on mine. Is there a chance you are hearing a clicking sound that comes from the rear wheels being loose? I guess not since you apparently are not using the tractor...just a thought...

/ That unsettling knocking...
Thanks for the feedback, Bill. Unfortunately, I live in Canada, and getting anything up from the States is always a problem. Believe me, when I look at some of the sites selling implements down there and compare prices with what we pay up here, I'd give my eye teeth for a greencard. Just came back from town, and paid $14.50 Cdn. for 5 U.S. gallons of diesel.