Did I kill it? 2016 L4701 HST stopped moving while mowing. PTO Dead too

/ Did I kill it? 2016 L4701 HST stopped moving while mowing. PTO Dead too #1  

Nilesw

Bronze Member
I have a 2016 4701 HST with 87 hours and use it primarily for bush hogging. Today while bush hogging on some hills in 90 degree weather, the tractor started to bog in M while going up a hill. I swapped to L and made it to the top of the hill turned around to come back down and the tractor lost power coming down the hill in L. I turned the tractor off and restarted it, starts right up but the HST pedal does nothing at all, no change in RPMs or anything. Also the PTO will not engage. Loader moves and the mower can bee raised and lowered. No warning lights are on and I have tried all 3 different settings LMH same result.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a tractor newbie and this is a total bummer for me.

/ Did I kill it? 2016 L4701 HST stopped moving while mowing. PTO Dead too #2  
I would start by checking the hydraulic fluid level. If low then find the leak.

On more then one occasion while bushhogging I have had a stick loosen up the hydraulic lines near the filter. Under the floorboards.

/ Did I kill it? 2016 L4701 HST stopped moving while mowing. PTO Dead too #3  
Check the simplest things first. For as fast as your problem started, I would check to see if any linkage between the pedal and the transmission became lose or completely disconnected.

Like wagne suggested, check underneath the floor boards. A lot of things happen under there.

/ Did I kill it? 2016 L4701 HST stopped moving while mowing. PTO Dead too
I went back out to see if I could figure out any more symptoms. The output PTO shaft does turn when the switch is in the on position but it must not have enough power to turn the blades of the bush hog so I thought it was not engaging, but it is, just with almost no power. No hydraulic fluid leak found so far, but I am still looking.