HST reliability...

/ HST reliability... #1  

ZackaryMac

Silver Member
Tractor
B6100 HST-E, T1600, Case 1818
I realize the HST vs manual subject is a hotly debated subject here, and likely for good reason. Since Kubota are such great machines, there has to be SOMETHING to debate! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
As a mechanic for 20 years, I can honestly say I have zero experience with HST, until I bought my B1600 3 weeks ago, and I love it for mowing. Of course I am inquisitive about it, so today I had a chance to question a hydraulics mechanic about the hydrostatic pumps sitting in the back of his truck. He works on lots of equipment that uses it - dozers, excavators, processors, etc. He tells me most gear today uses hydroststic with very little problems. Clean fluid is the key, and so is keeping it cool. While none of this is new, I was interested to hear that he says there is lots of equipment he works on with many hours on them, and there is one HST system with 21000 hours on it with 100% reliability. No failures, and worked hard. Only maintenance was done to this unit. Of course this isn't the same unit on the Kubota, but it was confidence-inspiring to hear that HST units can go a long time, worked hard, with no problems.

You'll notice this post stays neutral about which is better, though. /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif I'm not looking to "flare the fire", so to speak. /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

/ HST reliability... #2  
I had a HST in my old power trac. Right foot foward, left foot reverse. I would abuse that HST like crazy going from right foot to ltleft foot and back again making the wheels spin and me lurching back and forth. Never had a bit of problem with it, love it.
Now I have it again on my BX23 like you with just about 10 hrs on. Love it, it makes me lurch back and forth just like my old power trac. Hope it can take the abuse.