Supercharger anyone?

/ Supercharger anyone? #1  

woodstock

Gold Member
Tractor
BX2200
Has anyone every supercharged a Kubota? what would you do with 50% more power?
sc.jpg

http://www.hscsupercharger.com

15-52855-thumbnail.jpg

/ Supercharger anyone? #2  
<font color=blue>what would you do with 50% more power?</font color=blue>

Probably destroy my loader, dig big holes with my R1's, flip the whole tractor ass over tea kettle.

Of course, I'm new at this. /w3tcompact/icons/wink.gif

HarvSig.gif

/ Supercharger anyone? #4  
Hey GlueGuy,

Maybe I'm missing something, but the site indicates a 50% increase in power, from a 5HP engine, (gain of 2.5HP) for a total of 7.5 HP. Now the kit costs $800. and I KNOW a 8 or 10 or even 12 HP engine can be had for much less. I doubt if weight difference (5HP+Supercharger vs 8HPw/o supercharger) would amount to much.

Steve

/ Supercharger anyone? #5  
Well, I thought this thread was somewhat tongue in cheek. I could be wrong.

However, supercharging a diesel engine could be a questionable practice. What's the compression ratio on a "typical" diesel? Something like 17:1? Adding a supercharger would bump up the effective load on the heads/pistons/connecting rods/crank to potentially something like 24:1 (or whatever). Doesn't sound like a long term plan to me. I'd rather buy a tractor with a bigger engine in the first place....

The GlueGuy

/ Supercharger anyone? #6  
They do have Turbo Chargers on 'Normal' diesels, and I know for a fact the Detroit Diesels have superchargers, at least the straight 6 cylinder marine versions did.

Steve

/ Supercharger anyone? #7  
The Detroit Diesels were probably two strokers, not four strokes like all of ours. I don't think they make them anymore (bad polluters), but the concept was pretty cool /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

15-43440-790signaturegif.gif

/ Supercharger anyone? #8