Oil & Fuel Diesel Oil Change

/ Diesel Oil Change #1  

SanMar

Tractor
L3130HST
I went to the tractor supply store to get oil for a change. They didn't have 10W30 in CF rated oil. They told me I didn't need to get CF rated oil. That SL is better oil because S is a higher rating than C and will work. This doesn't sound right to me, but I want to make sure. Also, if I do go with the CF, is 15W40 OK in place of 10W30 or 10W40. I will be plowing snow in temps down to temps closing in on 10 or zero. The tractor will be in the garage for the winter though.

Thanks

/ Diesel Oil Change #2  
I am no expert but I would go with what is called for in the manual.....anything else might void the warranty if anything happened.

/ Diesel Oil Change #3  
so they want you to use an SL (gas rated oil) in a diesel application???? Now that is bright...

Your thinking was correct.

You want at least CF. You would have to look at the pour temps to see which oil you need. (10w-30, 5w30 and so on)

/ Diesel Oil Change #4  
No, The S stands for Spark ignition, C stands for Compression ignition. The S? oils dont have the correct additives for your diesel application.

Sounds like "this is what we have in stock, close enough". Not a good idea.

/ Diesel Oil Change #5  
I use the traveller premium all fleet diesel 15W-40 from Tractor Supply in my BX-22. It's rated for all diesel engines and includes the CF rating among many others. I'm sure gsxr1100 will disagree with me, but I have always run heavier oil in my engines because it raises the oil pressure which I believe is better for the engine. I used to run 20W-50 in my Camaro which gave me 90 PSI of oil pressure with a high volume pump. Pressure is good.

/ Diesel Oil Change #6  
I do not disagree but heavy oils have more drags and less mpg. Heavy oils are good but in certain engines. I think soon 15w-40 oils will no longer be used.

/ Diesel Oil Change #7