Grading Tilling using box blade rippers

/ Tilling using box blade rippers #1  

hz293

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota B7510HSD
The other day when I asked about using a tooth bar on my B7510HSD FEL to till with, overwhemingly everyone answering the thread said no. Someone mentioned using the rippers on a box blade to till. Just after that, a friend gave me a 5ft box blade he doesn't use anymore. Can I get some info on the best way to do it from others who have used rippers on a box blade?

/ Tilling using box blade rippers #2  
I am no expert, but I have just spent several hours using my box blade. Some results were good, but some were bad.

To get maximum penetration of the scarifiers, you will need to lower them to their lowest position and then shorten the top link so that the box blade is tilted forward, thus allowing the scarifiers to hit the ground well before the rest of the box. Then, you can drag the blade along the ground and the scarifiers will cut into the earth. However, they are not really close enough together to do a good job tilling, nor will they penetrate more than four inches or so. I suppose if you make multiple passes, it might work, but not very well in my opinion.

In addition, it is possible (don't ask me how I know) to bend the scarifiers if they hit a root, especially in a turn.

Good luck.

/ Tilling using box blade rippers #3  
Hi hz,

You can squeeze more scarifying depth out of your box blade if you make sure the lower links on the 3 pt arms are screwed down as far as they can go without being "threadbare".

And like trace said, shorten the toplink as short as you can to get the most aggressive digging & scarifier penetration.

Sure won't work like a tiller, but will definitely open up the ground for you.

/ Tilling using box blade rippers #4  
I have not had much luck with my box blade to level dirt. I have had some success in pulling dirt from one place to another. I am real nervous that backing with it might bend the 3PH arms.