What Size Plow for L2800?

/ What Size Plow for L2800? #1  

pax_tractor

Tractor
2010 Kubota M6040, '06 Kubota L2800 HST and 1948 Allis Chalmers G
I'm a new hobby farmer and very inexprienced but learning quickly!
How big of a plow will my L2800 pull? I'd like to plant a cover crop in my 2ac field this spring. The field was used years ago for tobacco but has been a wonderful weed garden ever since. Soil is heavy silt/clay. I'm guessing the tractor does not have enough power to pull a two bottom.
Please help.

thanks!

/ What Size Plow for L2800? #2  
It depends on soil conditions, furrow size of the plow, how deep you are going to plow and how fast you want to get the job done. I live in central ohio ( about 12 inches of topsoil and clay after that ) and the "general" rule is 15HP per bottom. You probably would have a hard time keeping your front end in the ground with a two bottom plow due to the back end weight. You could use front end weights to weigh you front end down though.

Too give you a good perspective, I have a 53HP 6000lb 2WD tractor and it can pull a 3 x 14 plow pretty easy. It is considered a 4 bottom plow tractor but in my area you would end up plowing ( lugging the tractor maybe ) so slow that a 3 bottom is a much better choice. As a alernative you might wanna look into renting / buying a harley rake or 3 point rototiller.

If you would like more info go to ytmag.com and do a search in implement alley for "plow" or ask a farmer in your area what size plow he pulls with what size tractor and that should give you a good idea.

Scott

/ What Size Plow for L2800? #3  
Last year I bought a 2 bottom plow that I use with my L2800. My soil is mostly sandy, but there's some clay, too. Sometimes if I set the plow too deep the tractor will not pull it, but I just raise it a touch and keep going. If you're worried about pullling a 2 bottom, you can always take off one of the bottoms.