Tractor storage - use a Shipping Container?

/ Tractor storage - use a Shipping Container? #1  

amigauser

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B2601
I have been monitoring this forum for at least a couple of years and have learned lots of good information :)

I finally ordered my first "real" tractor, a new B3030HSDCC which will be delivered in mid October, after I close on my new property.

Before the tractor arrives, I want to have a safe and dry home for it. The garage currently on the property only has a 6' 6" garage door and I know the B3030 cab model needs 7' minimum. There is no option to increase the current garage door size as there is a finished room over the garage so there is no way to raise the ceiling height Etc.

I have been investigating different options and I do not want to spend loads of money. I am located in Connecticut. So far I have found two possibilites.

1) I can get a prebuilt 12' x 20' garage with a 7' door for around $5,600 delivered.
2) I can get a 8' x 20' steel rebuilt shipping container with a 8'6" door for around $2,100 delivered.
http://www.onsitestorage.com/
Shipping / Storage Containers (Dry Vans) for sale

Obviously option #2 is much less money than option #1. Now, if I can only sell the wife on the look of a shipping container :D

Has anyone on this forum ever used a shipping container for storage? They do seem like a much better deal than a shed and are basically water and wind proof as they use them to ship cargo over the ocean.

Thanks for any input.
Norm

/ Tractor storage - use a Shipping Container? #2  
I have 2 shipping containers I use for storage - work well. One of my containers is extra tall, about 9.5'. That gives plenty of ROPS clearance.

Vernon

/ Tractor storage - use a Shipping Container? #3  
The steel container will be "wet" on the inside when the weather changes and on mornings when the dew is on the ground. Unless they have doors that seal very well. They are also extreemly ugly.