BX Coolant Change - Need Help Please

/ BX Coolant Change - Need Help Please #1  

r0GuE

Veteran Member
Tractor
ex-Bota Owner
Would any of you BX owners be so kind as to walk me through a coolant change on my BX-2200. It is nearly 6 years old, yet the local shop seemed perplexed as to why I'd want to change the coolant.

I've never done coolant on any vehicle before, but I'm hoping it isn't all that hard. I understand there are at least two types of fluid, and that I need to be 100% certain to get tthe right type..?

/ BX Coolant Change - Need Help Please #2  
Changing the anti freeze is easy. Remove the lower radiator hose and catch it in a large pan. Check the book to see how much it holds. If the condition of the old anti freeze is dark, then you should flush with a cleaning solution and follow the directions on the package. I use Valvoline Zerex GO5 ($12-15 per gallon) because it is specifically intended for aluminum engines, which are the most temperamental when it comes to anti freeze. It is also the one that Mercedes, Dodge, and most of the high dollar cars manufacturers use and recommend for there cars. Carquest carries both the Mercedes brand (clear) and the Zerex brand (gold). It is the "hoat" coolant (GO5) (Hybrid Organic Acid Technology) that makes the difference. Some people buy anti freeze based on price, not quality. All anti freeze will protect from freezing, but not all will protect the metal parts of the engine and cooling system as well. Corrosion of the cooling system can cost many times more than the cost of the anti freeze. Mix only with distilled water, not tap water. Tap water contains minerals that can cause problems later in the anti freeze life span. A 50/50 mix is ideal. You should change anti freeze every 2 or 3 years. The lubricating qualities deteriorate with age, not use. Check the condition of the hoses to determine if they should be replaced. Dispose of the old anti freeze properly, because it is toxic to humans and animals.
Dusty