BX1850 with MMM

/ BX1850 with MMM #1  

John_B32

I have 3 acres of rolling property that needs to be mowed approx twice a month during the rainy season (southern california). I would be mowing mainly weeds, and as long as I keep up on it I should never me mowing anything over 12" tall. The property is not totally clean, so there will be some small brances that I would encounter (nothing over 1.5 inches in diameter). Will a MMM on a BX1850 handle that with no problem?

Also, I'm looking at a used BX1850 with 12 hours on it for $8,500. Is that a good price.

Thanks for any advise. I'm a newbie!

John

/ BX1850 with MMM #2  
I would say that the tractor will handle that with no problem. I cut some high grass a couple times a year and have never had any problems other than hitting a few rocks. I mow over small branches, but not anything that is more than 3/4" in diameter. Dusty

/ BX1850 with MMM #3  
The 1850 should be fine for that, I have wooded areas that I cut 2 or 3 times a year with a 1500 and its no problem. I cut a couple acres of grass once a week, and a couple of wooded, knee high weedy areas once a month, if that. The rest I cut trails through once in a while. I do pick up the big stuff before I mow. I don't get off the tractor for much once I start cutting.

/ BX1850 with MMM #4  
The MMM will work fine for that application. It will take small branches w/o any trouble at all except for a little added wear & tear on the blades. There's always stuff coming down out of the trees around my place and I never bother to move it unless it is bigger than 2" dia.

If you aren't doing any tight manuvering you may want to consider a RFM instead. They hitch up and detach more easily and give you extra ground clearance when needed. They are also a few hundred dollars less expensive to buy.

/ BX1850 with MMM #5  
John_B32 said:
Also, I'm looking at a used BX1850 with 12 hours on it for $8,500. Is that a good price.

Thanks for any advise. I'm a newbie!

John