Gyro Trac GT 25 Review

/ Gyro Trac GT 25 Review #1  

fishfactor

Gold Member
Tractor
(2) 2014 CAT 299DXHP / FECON
OK, we've had the GT 25 for a little while now so I figured I would post my thoughts. When we were considering making the purchase I couldn't find any reviews, so maybe this will help someone. I have been operating a Bobcat T320 with a fecon mulcher for about 3 1/2 years. The GT 25 is a 2005 with just over 2000 hours.

The GT 25 mulches great. On small stuff (4" and under) you can put it in low gear (ours is a 3 speed) and go almost full speed about 2" off the ground as long as it's not all 4" and not extremely thick. Then drop down and back drag leaving a very nice, fine mulch, finished product. It would take 4 or more passes with the hammer head to get anywhere close to the quality. Larger trees are no problem especially with sharp teeth. The largest I have cut is a 20" white oak which took just under 10 minutes.

The cab: Nice and quiet. It has been wet so I can't speak for the dust situation. Plenty of room, although no cup holder but I plan on fixing that. The cab is pressurized so I would assume that dust won't be a problem. If you just barely open the door the engine is very loud so things seem to be sealed well.

Fuel consumption seems very good, but I only ran one test. Our transfer tank has no meter and we use it for our Bobcat as well. To get an idea I filled the GT 25 and ran it for 8 hours on a logging cleanup job. Then filled it at the gas station with 55 gallons. This comes to 6.875 gallons/hour. We ran 2250 RPM which isn't WOT. I have never been a fan of wide open.

Manueverability is a little lacking, especially compared to a CTL. Turns need to be 3 point it most situations. You can spin 360 degrees on flat ground, but how often are you on flat ground?