Mulching equipment

/ Mulching equipment #1  

Raul5452

Bronze Member
Tractor
John Deere 970, Kubota M7060
Hello Gentlemen, I'm brand new on tractor by net. I have been anxious to participate in the land clearing business.
I've been mowing lots,pastures brush and spreading dirt for 17 years with a John Deere 970 , rhino tw60, and now a 260. Great shredders . Mowing brush 1"/3" in diameter. I have a loader on tractor which I use to push the brush down and the shredder does the rest. I'm hoping to upgrade to a JD 5075 with 60 HP at pro and right now the seppi 175 or 200 are my main interest. I hope to get a 12 forward 12 power reverse transmission. Any advice. This will be a big investment for me. I hope to run the tractor forward allowing the mulcher to cut the brush. Any brush thicker than 4" I will back up on the trees as I've seen on many videos.Will this work ? Thank you all for any help.

/ Mulching equipment #2  
A hydrostatic trany on your tractor is a real good option and well worth the extra dollars IMHO.Without it you could be paying for it in clutch repairs and a sore knee. I use an old Ford Versatile bidirectional tractor and push the mower. I don't get punctures that way. ;-)

/ Mulching equipment #3  
Welcome to Tractorbynet. Is that JD5075 a bi directional? If not, I think you will be frustrated going backwards with a mulcher. I'd get out of the tractor unless you want to spend really big bucks setting it up for mulching.

Look into a CTL which would work perfect in Corpus and will run and lift circles around the tractor. You won't go back, I promise, to a tractor for mowing or mulching. I just finished a 40 acre tract with plenty of brush like you describe, rocks, rough terrain and 6' tall johnson grass and I did it with my Bobcat and a Virnig mower (I can't say enough good things about Virnig after mowing 70 acres since i got it last fall).