New orchard advice needed

/ New orchard advice needed #1  

daugen

Super Star Member
Tractor
in between now
for years I have been pondering putting in a small orchard of about a dozen dwarf fruit trees behind our church/Meeting,
and fairly close to the nursery school we have on premises. Grew up with an orchard and a grape arbor on our farm, so I'm familiar
with orchards, a little, and have pruned a lot of fruit trees. So far, considering the normal types local to here, apple, pear, peach, cherry

A few questions please:
  • pros and cons of dwarf fruit trees; e.g. is it better to just prune a full size tree more severely?
  • cross pollination vs direction of prevailing wind: an issue or just rely on the bees?
  • suggestions for ways to reduce small child bee stings
  • how long until the tree gets too old and production drops?

I am going to make a proposal to the Meeting to install and maintain this orchard, now that I have a phd/tree auger to make this possible. Assume trees in the six to eight foot range. Appreciate all suggestions on starting a fruit tree orchard. Thanks. Drew

/ New orchard advice needed #2  
for years I have been pondering putting in a small orchard of about a dozen dwarf fruit trees behind our church/Meeting,
and fairly close to the nursery school we have on premises. Grew up with an orchard and a grape arbor on our farm, so I'm familiar
with orchards, a little, and have pruned a lot of fruit trees. So far, considering the normal types local to here, apple, pear, peach, cherry

A few questions please:

[*]pros and cons of dwarf fruit trees; e.g. is it better to just prune a full size tree more severely?
[*]cross pollination vs direction of prevailing wind: an issue or just rely on the bees?
[*]suggestions for ways to reduce small child bee stings
[*]how long until the tree gets too old and production drops?
[*]