Rope for pulling trees over

/ Rope for pulling trees over #1  

94BULLITT

Tractor
yes
I have a few trees that I want to take down. They need a little help to fall in the right direction. What kind of rope would be good to use to pull them in the right direction while they are being cut?

/ Rope for pulling trees over #2  
I have a few trees that I want to take down. They need a little help to fall in the right direction. What kind of rope would be good to use to pull them in the right direction while they are being cut?

A very long one.

I use tow straps and chains for this type of thing.

/ Rope for pulling trees over #3  
If you are wanting some good rope you might want to look at this. Stronger than steel, wears better than steel, and has less stretch than steel. It isn't cheap but I have been using it for several years now. It's going to last many years.

AmsteelBlue.com - Best price on genuine Amsteel

/ Rope for pulling trees over #4  

You can get by with rope on small trees but I find the stretch is too much for my liking on anything with significant diameter (weight). I like to use cable and/or chain and a 'come along' to put some tension in the direction I need it. How are you planning to drop the trees? How big are they? What kind? Around here they are mostly evergreens and grow pretty straight. The maples are the scary ones as they grow in clumps, lean, and hang up in each other. They can also kick back sometimes.

/ Rope for pulling trees over #5  
If you are wanting some good rope you might want to look at this. Stronger than steel, wears better than steel, and has less stretch than steel. It isn't cheap but I have been using it for several years now. It's going to last many years.