Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
    Tractor
    Kubota BX2360 & L4240 HSTC

Default Rope for pulling trees over

I have a few trees that I want to take down. They need a little help to fall in the right direction. What kind of rope would be good to use to pull them in the right direction while they are being cut?

Tractor
    Many

Quote Originally Posted by 94BULLITT View Post
    I have a few trees that I want to take down. They need a little help to fall in the right direction. What kind of rope would be good to use to pull them in the right direction while they are being cut?
    A very long one.

I use tow straps and chains for this type of thing.

Tractor
    Kubota B7800 with FEL

Default Re: Rope for pulling trees over

If you are wanting some good rope you might want to look at this. Stronger than steel, wears better than steel, and has less stretch than steel. It isn't cheap but I have been using it for several years now. It's going to last many years.

AmsteelBlue.com - Best price on genuine Amsteel
    I used to do the Hokey Pokey but I turned myself around.

Tractor
    Kubota BX-25D, JD circa 1990 Lawn Tractor

Quote Originally Posted by 94BULLITT View Post
    You can get by with rope on small trees but I find the stretch is too much for my liking on anything with significant diameter (weight). I like to use cable and/or chain and a 'come along' to put some tension in the direction I need it. How are you planning to drop the trees? How big are they? What kind? Around here they are mostly evergreens and grow pretty straight. The maples are the scary ones as they grow in clumps, lean, and hang up in each other. They can also kick back sometimes.

Tractor

Quote Originally Posted by whistlepig View Post
    If you are wanting some good rope you might want to look at this. Stronger than steel, wears better than steel, and has less stretch than steel. It isn't cheap but I have been using it for several years now. It's going to last many years.