How to make a smooth lawn

/ How to make a smooth lawn #1  

Hambone

Platinum Member
Tractor
JD3032
My lawn is pretty rough. I have rolled it before, without much result.
I have heard you should not roll, that it compacts the soil.
What if you run a core aerator first then roll. Will that help, work, or give same same result.
I have thought of just ripping up the whole back yard, but, that sure would make a mess.

Any ideas??

/ How to make a smooth lawn #2  
I've been contemplating the same issue for a few years now. The original owner of my lot never got a final grade. He just seeded the rough grade and now I have the gut-wrenching job of bouncing around while I mow it.

/ How to make a smooth lawn
Yep, I believe that is what happened here. The front yard, about an acre, is great. I can mow at full speed with no problems.
The back and side yards are miserable. I have filled some spots and smoothed out, but, does not help much.

/ How to make a smooth lawn #4  
Steve, I'd do the opposite.
I would roll then come behind with an aerator. That way the soil that you have compacted can breathe again.

/ How to make a smooth lawn #5  
I don't know about Steve's lot, but no amount of rolling could ever make a smooth lawn for me. The depth of the highs and lows averages about 5 inches.

/ How to make a smooth lawn #6  
I have the same problem and I'm working on it a bit at the time. I bring in top soil, spread it and then drag a chain harrow over it. One day I'm sure I'll have it mostly smooth. /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

/ How to make a smooth lawn #7  
What's it worth to you?

Hire a guy in with a harley rake on a tractor or skid steer. He'll have it smooth in a day. Check out some of the pics by Rowski on this board.

To save some $$ you could re-seed it yourself - Time to get a three point spreader. Although hydroseeding seems to have a higher % of success.

/ How to make a smooth lawn #8