3pt Grooming Mower recommendation

/ 3pt Grooming Mower recommendation #1  

papayne

I'm in the market for a finishing/grooming mower and considering two options that I could use opinions on from anyone familiar with these mowers. 1st up is a new TSC, CountyLine 6' finishing mower at $1649.99. It has good reviews on the TSC web site, but spotty reputation in forums, although there isn't a lot of information out there on them. The up side is that it is new. Down side is that it may not be made with the best quality in mind. The 2nd option is a used 2009 LandPride FDR 1660 (60" Patriot model) Grooming mower for $950. I've only seen a picture at this point, but it looks in good shape, just a little rust on the top of the gear box and tops of the gauge wheel assemblies. I also noted that the belt covers are missing. Assuming that the gear box is good, which would you chose? The better quality used or the lesser quality new?

I have no experience with these and not much with Ag equipment in general... I have 10 acres that is mostly horse pasture and nearly flat. Maybe 3 acres of lawn (also pretty flat- but some rough spots from heavy equipment driving on mud). Don't have too many obstructions other than a few trees and fencing. My main considerations are the quality of the cut I can expect and durability. I want something that will last years without having to throw money into it every year to keep it running (like the belly mower I am replacing). I have a 2008 New Holland TC30 compact tractor.

Thanks for your thoughts and any advice or experience you have with these.

/ 3pt Grooming Mower recommendation #2  
I have a Sitrex 180 (72") rear discharge finish mower, have had it for, I'm guessing 15 years now, I know it over 12 years.
It's been a really good mower have never had any problems with it.
Have used it to keep an old hay field mowed, a couple of times a year, and it's all hilly.
Usually running my tractor in 4wd, when I mow those hills.