Buying a new tractor

/ Buying a new tractor #1  

Don172

Tractor
LS G3033
Hello
I am new to tractors and have been wanting to buy a tractor for a couple of years now. It is finally getting close to the time that i can buy one and i visited the LS dealer today which just increased my excitement. I have pretty much settled on a G3033, but my big question is do i want a back hoe. The question of want is yes because i just had it in my head for a long time that i need one. But for 5-7 thousand dollars do i really need it. I was thinking of doing some ditch work and pulling stumps amongst other things. The sales man kinda steered me away by saying that if you are not going to use it much its kind of a waste of money which i appreciate that. It definitely makes the tractor more affordable. he quoted me 22500 with a backhoe and 16400 for tractor and front end loader. Looking for some input. Is the backhoe needed for pulling stumps or can you get most of them with the front end loader? You guys that have a backhoe how much do u really use it and what for? I know that if i ever want to have one it will be cheaper to get it now as apposed to later.
Thanks for any input.

/ Buying a new tractor #2  
I bought the Backhoe cause I can afford it. Have not put it on this year. If you got the cash go for it otherwise rent a mini ex for your stumps and stuff.Happy Hunting and check other dealers around your area.

/ Buying a new tractor #3  
Murph has a point. You can get a lot of rental for $5K. LS is a great tractor. My R3039H is a week old and I love it!
RJ

/ Buying a new tractor #4  
Don172,

Take a long hard look at how much work you really have that you need a backhoe for. Can it all be done in a few days or even a week? A rental mini-excavator rents for $150-300 delivered to your site and is usually faster working than a backhoe.

/ Buying a new tractor #5