72" Finish Mower for my J2023?

/ 72" Finish Mower for my J2023? #1  

Olympus

Platinum Member
Tractor
LS R3039
I have a line on a like new Land Pride 72" rear discharge finish mower that's only been used 3 years and the price is really good. Has anyone use a 72" RDFM with a J series before? I called my dealer and he said generally a tractor can run a finish mower one size up from what they run a rotary cutter. He said as long as I wasn't trying to use the finish mowet like a brush hog and as long as it wasn't thick grass, then my J2023 should be alright.

I sold my little 4ft brush hog that I used to clear my woods and there's nothing except mature trees and trees still too big for even a brush hog to cut left. So I've been using the brush hog as a weeds mower for the last 3 years just keeping grass down in the woods and it never did a good job. So I've been thinking of switching to a finish mowet now since I keep it mowed nicely every year. I was looking at 60" finish mowers, but this Land Pride came up and even though it's 72", the owner came down to $700. It's like $2300 new!

I have read a lot of threads where people are talking about 6ft mowers being too heavy so I did the math for my J2023. It weighs 1565lbs without a loader, loader and bucket add 638lbs, and I added 30 gallons of Rimguard which is another 320lbs. So my tractor with loader attached weighs 2523lbs. The 3pt lift capacity is 1433lbs and the manual says the Land Pride weighs 619lbs. So by my calculations, my tractor should physically have no problems with being overtaken by 619lb implement. The HP is the only area that seems a little gray to me. What say the rest of you?

/ 72" Finish Mower for my J2023? #2  
What is the PTO horsepower on your tractor and is it a hydrostat or gear?

/ 72" Finish Mower for my J2023?
Re: 72" Finish Mower for my J2023?

17.5 pto hp and hydro trans.

I bought it and brought it home tonight. Guess I'll have to see for myself.