XR 3135 synchro shuttle or hydrostatic transmission??

/ XR 3135 synchro shuttle or hydrostatic transmission?? #1  

T REX

Bronze Member
Tractor
Ford 1720
I'm a newbie, I have 1720 with a clutch-gear tranny and want to move up a bit in power... Seriously considering a XR3135 with FEL AND turf tires. We'll be using it mostly for mowing, brush hogging and occasionally loader usage. I've had smaller lawn tractors with hydrostatic but not at all familiar with the Synchro shuttle on the XR tractors. Any comments and experience with the pro's and con's will be appreciated.... Thanks!!

/ XR 3135 synchro shuttle or hydrostatic transmission?? #2  
Welcome to TBN neighbor.....

IMO you can't beat hydrostatic for repetitive loader work and also brush hogging forward and backward mowing. Most, if not all XR 's come with cruise control which will make mowing long areas easier.
Syncro shuttle will cost less than a hydro. My last 2 tractors were hydro. Gear tractors may be better for farm type work pulling implements but I don't do any of that so I have no need for a gear tractor.
Just my opinions.

/ XR 3135 synchro shuttle or hydrostatic transmission?? #3  
Had a shuttle shift on an old Yanmar 4X4 w/FEL I used to build my place.
I've had all the bending and shifting I care to do the rest of my days.
I use all my FEL implements and THAT'S where you create all the back and forth repetitive motion.
If you are planning on using you equipment to work/build your place, pay the extra money up front and
get the hydro trans.
I've seldom seen anyone complain about it. Except for the occasional person will complain about the hydro pump noise at lower RPMs.

/ XR 3135 synchro shuttle or hydrostatic transmission??
Thanks for the replies George and Maxify.. I know the hydrostatic s are easy-to-use and may go that route.. The XR models have what they call a (fully) synchro shuttle.. I was just wondering if anyone had experience with this type of tranny....