Is there a *real* service manual for XR series, and what are they selling on the web?

/ Is there a *real* service manual for XR series, and what are they selling on the web? #1  

strantor

Platinum Member
Tractor
LS XR4140H
Hello, I'm strantor. First post here.
I'm a professional electronics nerd and a hobbyist mechanic & welder. First time tractor owner.

I bought an LS XR4140 two days ago and told the dealer I wanted every piece of technical documentation they had for it. They they told me that the owners manual should have all the info in it. It didn't. No electrical or hydraulic schematics, no exploded parts views with part numbers, nothing that satisfied my technical craving.

I got more specific. I said "I don't know what you guys would call it, but I'm looking for a 'shop manual' or 'service manual' or 'technical manual.' I want the book that YOUR technicians use to troubleshoot MY tractor when I bring it in with an electrical, hydraulic, or mechanical issue." They said that they use a computer system that only dealers have access to, but they would contact LS and get a service manual on order for me. 30+ minutes the service manager comes out and says he's made multiple calls to his LS contacts, and there is no such thing as a service manual for this tractor. It doesn't exist. ("Yet")

So I take my new tractor home, after I'm done playing with it I go inside and Google "XR4140 service manual" and this is the very first result:

'LS' Repair Manual, Shop/Service Manual for All 'XR' 3100 & 4100 Series Tractors

$300. I choked on that for a bit, searched around for a better deal or a downloadable PDF, couldn't find anything, so I went back and paid $300 for the manual.