Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tractor
    none

Default Dumb Question-Hydraulic Fluid

Ok. Like I said in my first post, I'm a super newbie. LS 4041H for two weeks and I am working the heck out of it. Just turned 23 hours. New grapple bucket and all. Now for the dumb question. How do you check the hydraulic fluid. Is it the dip stick at the rear end or am I missing something. Got the oil down, but I am sure I need some hydraulic fluid because of the grapple and a little shake when turning.

So far this is the cats meow for me. Oh by the way I am clearing 6 acres of land by myself with the always present advise from my wife.

Now for a funny: I was washing the Blue Beast and I asked my neighbor what shouldn't get wet on my tractor. He said "your wife". Guess that sums it up.

Sherminator

Gold Member
    Tractor
    JD

Default Re: Dumb Question-Hydraulic Fluid

Your neighbor is pretty quick-witted...Guess that sums it up.

Yes, it's the dip stick "at the rear end". And owner's manual would have that information if you have one. If you don't, you can probably get a PDF of it online (probably for free).

Not sure why you'd be down hydraulic fluid after only 23 hours unless it was filled to "full" before you added attachments, and then you needed more fluid to fill the cylinders in the attachments.

The dip stick is probably marked for "cold", or maybe "hot", but temperature matters.

Also, be aware that a clogged hydraulic strainer can cause "jerkiness" in the movement in your attachments. A damaged hydraulic cylinder could cause a seal to deteriorate and clog the strainer. That happened to me with a new backhoe.

Tractor
    none

Thanks Ted. I checked that "dip stick" while it was cool and the fluid was just touching the bottom of the stick. I'm sure with the grapple cylinder and extra hoses I should be down a gallon or maybe a little less. What you think?

Sherminator

Tractor
    2009 Kubota RTV 900, 2009 Kubota B26 TLB & 2010 model LS P7010