Newbie trying to pick the right LS for our needs

/ Newbie trying to pick the right LS for our needs #1  

danisiri

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota M7060HDC12
I am new to farming, ranching, and tractors. I have 70 acres of mostly flat and clear land, with sandy and clay soil. I have settled on a 4x4 LS tractor with a cab, I am just not certain which one to get.

The tasks we will need to do are:

- dirt/gravel road maintenance
- post hole digging
- excavating/reinforcing ponds
- tilling/plowing for crops
- shredding
- cutting/baling hay (round preferred)

I can hire out the hay baling to someone, but if I am buying a tractor, I might as well do it myself and keep the toys.

Price is not an issue. I am looking for the best value. At minimum, I am looking at the 4046HC and the upper limit is the 7040. I don't know how much of a difference there is between a syncro shuttle and a power shuttle, so maybe someone has some advice for me on that? I can drive a manual transmission just fine, but just never done it on a tractor.

Thanks all!

/ Newbie trying to pick the right LS for our needs #2  
if your going to pull a round baler get the 7040. you need the weight more than the hp.I would not want less 60 pto hp

/ Newbie trying to pick the right LS for our needs
My main concern with the big tractors is that they may not be that maneuverable. So road smoothing and fine/finish work means a shovel and wheelbarrow, lol. Or maybe I need a big tractor and something smaller too...like a skid steer or compact tractor. Though, it is hard enough to get the wife to agree to one tractor, nonetheless to two.

I also don't have a big enough truck to pull a trailer with the 7040 and implements. So while I can have it delivered, if I have to take it somewhere far, I have to pay someone to move it for me.

/ Newbie trying to pick the right LS for our needs #4