Why Buy a Mahindra or Mahindra vs . . . .?

/ Why Buy a Mahindra or Mahindra vs . . . .? #1  

JimnAZ

Bronze Member
Tractor
None
Hello,

I am a newbie to this forum and a future newbie tractor owner. I stumbled upon this site while searching the Internet about tractors. I have only been reading Mahindra threads but have to say it has been very informative so far.
A couple of days ago my wife and I stopped at an equipment place that had mostly John Deere tractors. We ended up looking at the 3032E. The ones smaller than this were too small and he larger ones out of our price range. Thinking this was a pretty good tractor, I started researching it online. Found some YouTube vids on comparisons to other makes/models and this is how I came upon Mahindra and this forum.
It looks like the Mahindra 3016 is a comparable model to the JD. I realize this is he Mahindra forum, but why choose a Mahindra over the JD, and/or other manufacturers? I learned more about tractors the last couple of days than my whole life but still not very knowledgable. If anyone is willing, please help me understand why to buy a Mahindra. We live in NW Arizona and there really isn't many tractor places of any make if at all. The closest Mahindra is 4 hours away.
Our price range is around $24k if we finance, so I think the 3016 is all we can do.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Jim

/ Why Buy a Mahindra or Mahindra vs . . . .? #3  
The Mahindra would be a better value in my opinion, but for long term resale the Deere (or a Kubota or other top tier brand) will carry more value. Also look into Kioti and some of the other 2nd tier brands -- they are all great values. But forget the internet discussions, you really need to test drive the tractors and get some seat time. Then factor in dealer support. That will all make the choice become a lot clearer. The best tractor will be the one that you like the most, the one that has good dealer support, and the one that fits your budget.