5500 trans vent leak

/ 5500 trans vent leak #1  

walt5500

Tractor
Mahindra 5500
Hi all,
I am new to registering. I have a new 5500 2wd, 260 FEL, 30 hours now since Jan. 09.
I am having a problem with oil leaking from the vent (I assume a vent) on top of the transmission just in front of seat, behind shifter plate. It is not over full.
At first I thought it was caused when letting front loader down with weight on it. That is not it. I cleaned it off well today and drove on the country road in 4th gear but not fast. As I slowed down idling in driveway, the oil leaked out.
But not while going down the road. It seems that the vent is not sealing to keep it from leaking. I've talked with dealer and they don't know. They told me to pull the shifter cover to see if there is a tube or elbow not correct below the vent.
Can anyone tell me what is supposed to be inside below the vent?

Thanks,
Walt

/ 5500 trans vent leak
Isn't there anyone with a 5500?

/ 5500 trans vent leak #3  
The last few 00 series I sold had this problem. Mahindra took the material that use to be in the vent that resricted the flow out. Your dealer should be able to contact their service manager to find there latest suggestion on a fix.

Good luck,
Dave

/ 5500 trans vent leak
Thanks Dave.
I'll check with them again.
I have called Mahindra 24/7 help line and they could not help.

It does not do it all the time, only when you have to rev up.
I do not use this tractor hard. Most of what I do is like 1200 RPM or less at idling. But if you rev up going across pasture or on country road it will do it. Not a lot but it only takes small amount of oil to look like a lot, plus makes a mess with dust. A new tractor should not do this.

I took the breather bolt out and the cap has a screen inside but it does not restrict the oil enough, the base has two small holes that the oil is coming thru.
I was assuming there should be something else inside for restriction.