Very basic PTO question

/ Very basic PTO question #1  

graculus

Tractor
Mahindra
Sorry for an absolute beginner question. I'm probably going to get a rear pto rotary mower. As far as I can tell those mowers have a telescoping PTO drive shaft, so my question is since the shaft isn't a fixed length what retains it on the pto output shaft of the tractor?

/ Very basic PTO question #2  
Sorry for an absolute beginner question. I'm probably going to get a rear pto rotary mower. As far as I can tell those mowers have a telescoping PTO drive shaft, so my question is since the shaft isn't a fixed length what retains it on the pto output shaft of the tractor?

There's a groove around the tractor's PTO shaft, & a spring-loaded doo-hicky (stud? actually "retainer" is a good word) inside your implement's PTO shaft coupler should snap inside your tractor's PTO shaft's groove to secure the PTO shaft to the PTO.

When connecting your implement's PTO shaft to your tractor's PTO shaft make very sure the coupler's retainer does snap into place.

(Not the best terminology, but I think this explains it)

/ Very basic PTO question
Aha, thanks, that makes sense. I did notice the groove on the output shaft but not having looked up the business end of a mower drive shaft didn't realize there would be a spring-loaded doo-hicky in there.

Then there's also the drive shaft cover that has to be secured somehow (chain?), I see a hole in the metal hood over the ouput shaft, is that what that's for?

/ Very basic PTO question #4  
Then there's also the drive shaft cover that has to be secured somehow (chain?), I see a hole in the metal hood over the ouput shaft, is that what that's for?