Is 4WD necessary?

/ Is 4WD necessary? #1  

keegs

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M5640SUD
I've been tractor shopping for almost a year now. Looked at most major brands new and used. I'm leaning toward the Mahindra and in particular the 5525. I'm still new to tractors, though I've managed to pick up a few things along the way of this year long quest.

I think I need something north of 50 engine horsepower to mow about 50, mostly flat acres and to groom and snowblow a long driveway. I picked up an MF model 41, 7' sickle bar mower this past summer and plan to purchase a brush hog and box blade along with the tractor. The FEL, and blower will likely come later as I feel like I'm biting off quite a bit at this point as it is.

I've been undecided about whether or not 4WD is necessary. I plan to keep the tractor for the duration so my sense of it is, if 2wd does the job, resale won't be an issue. But while the added cost of 4wd is significant, I don't want to lean too hard on cost and get something that's not completely up to the tasks at hand. I'm very comfortable operating the manual gear transmission.

My next door neighbor farms a few hundred acres of potato and grain. He says absolutely no need for 4WD. What say you?

TIA.

/ Is 4WD necessary? #2  
If you are adding a FEL you should get the 4wd. You will need it.

/ Is 4WD necessary? #3  
Necessary? Probably not. But it will make your work easier for a relatively modest investment. 4WD will also add to resale value, if and when that time comes.

/ Is 4WD necessary? #4  
Not wanting to sound like a wise a--, but 4WD is only necessary when you need it. Think about your situation, the uses you intend, the weather, the terrain and your budget. Now, think about when it will be needed and you don't have 4WD. What will you do then?

/ Is 4WD necessary? #5  
If you are gettting a loader then I would say 4wd is a no brainer. But still not necessary.

/ Is 4WD necessary? #6