Traction Locking rear-end won't engage (Mahindra 3016 HST)

/ Locking rear-end won't engage (Mahindra 3016 HST) #1  

TOSA Ranch

Hey Guys,
My Mahindra 3016 HST only has 20 hours on it and I've had my first issue. I can't seem to get the rear differential locker to engage. It's just a pedal on the floor and I've used it in the past without issue, but now it's not working. I'm new to tractor mechanics so is there an adjustable linkage or something that isn't tightened up possibly? I'll be calling the dealer after the weekend but if I can avoid dragging it 45 minutes there and back for warranty work, I'd just as soon fix it myself.

Sent from my iPhone using TractorByNet

/ Locking rear-end won't engage (Mahindra 3016 HST) #2  
Hey Guys,
My Mahindra 3016 HST only has 20 hours on it and I've had my first issue. I can't seem to get the rear differential locker to engage. It's just a pedal on the floor and I've used it in the past without issue, but now it's not working. I'm new to tractor mechanics so is there an adjustable linkage or something that isn't tightened up possibly? I'll be calling the dealer after the weekend but if I can avoid dragging it 45 minutes there and back for warranty work, I'd just as soon fix it myself.

I brought mine in just prior to the end of the full two-year warranty for a similar issue. Mine hadn't stopped working, but was slipping. The dealer had to tear apart the rear end and put in a new "locker". The parts that lock together had worn some. It's a cheap locking mechanism, just have the dealer replace it. I believe there is an adjustment, and am not certain, but it may be on the right side (as sitting on it). Look for a rod with an adjustment like a tie rod end.

/ Locking rear-end won't engage (Mahindra 3016 HST) #3