1538 hst

/ 1538 hst #1  

ah64driver2002

Tractor
Ford 3000
Well before I run to my dealer in a panic I was wondering if anyone has ran into this type of issue before. I have a 1538 host with a front loader. Had the brush hog on it today cutting the pasture. The tractor has just over 50 hrs on it. I am fairly new to tractors this was a replacement for a Ford 3000. The issue I am having is that when going up hill or turning up hill the tractor will slow to a stop. Rpms will not drop. The tractor will sit there for a second and then slowly start moving again. I am not on the tractor. I have ran into this before when I use my box blade to repair my driveway but that is due to the amount of dirt that I am dragging around. Even if I lift the brush hog off the ground it does not takeoff. This occurs in 2wd and 4wd high gear 1 and 2nd speeds. Any help would be greatly appreciated

/ 1538 hst #2  
Well, the common symptom you describe is that this occurs when the tractor is angled on an upwards slope (hill).

That suggests a fluid level (probably fuel but could be hydraulic) is low at that angle.

/ 1538 hst
Fuel level showed 3 bars. I will check had level. Thanks

/ 1538 hst #4  
Am I reading this right- HST in high gear? I've never had mine in high gear while doing any work or going up hill. I'm guessing u r over geared.

/ 1538 hst #5  
Am I reading this right- HST in high gear? I've never had mine in high gear while doing any work or going up hill. I'm guessing u r over geared.

Yup, agree. Put it in M and remember when you need more power, you let off on the drive pedal, not push it down further. HST gives you a higher 'gear' the further you push the pedal.

/ 1538 hst