Adding a 3rd function to 2538. Mahindra or WR Long

/ Adding a 3rd function to 2538. Mahindra or WR Long #1  

BuggyMasters

Tractor
Mahindra 2538
Seems there is a factory kit and aftermarket. Is the factory kit easier to install compared to say a WR Long kit? I'm a car mechanic but don't have experience with tractors and hydraulics. I "get it" with an overview of what needs to be done but that's just from my underexperienced point of view. Is it a big deal to add it? Any and all comments/suggestions welcome.

/ Adding a 3rd function to 2538. Mahindra or WR Long
BTW my goal is to add a grapple. Also what's the best source pricewise for either kit? EA is local to me.

/ Adding a 3rd function to 2538. Mahindra or WR Long #3  
The WR Long kit is a true third function- it allows lift, curl and the third function at once. The Mahindra kit is a diverter that diverts from curl to the third function when an electric button is pushed. The diverter style is available from several sources for far less than Mahindra. The diverter is seen as the easy way to do it but looses some function. I personally have a true third function (WR Long style) and wouldn't be without it.

If you are a mechanic I'd recommend buying the valve and FEL control grip with the needed switch. Then have the hoses needed made. It will take the price from about $1000 to well under $500. Say an hour of research and an hour to have hoses made. You are still ahead.

/ Adding a 3rd function to 2538. Mahindra or WR Long #4  
I'm trying to decide the same. Dealer said it may be awhile for the factory kit because of the damage in Houston. Probably going to go with the WR Long; but I may check with a hydraulic place in the next town over. I know they make custom hoses, just need to see if they have the other bits and pieces.

/ Adding a 3rd function to 2538. Mahindra or WR Long #5  
I have the Long kit to control my grapple. Works great, a very clean kit. i have no complaints.

Sent from my iPad using TractorByNet