Mahindra vrs JD

/ Mahindra vrs JD #1  

shamban

Tractor
shopping
I am new to TBN and love this place! I have learned a lot about first tractor hunt. It seems that what most everyone agrees is quite possibly the most important factor is having a quality, local dealer for support. Since I am new to all this, I would consider this extremely important as well.

I have two dealers close, JD and Mahindra. I am looking for a 30 HP, FEL, backhoe, rotary mower. I have 25 acres with 5 aces woods. What I am wondering how these brands compare to each other in the range. How much might I save with Mahindra and is there any downside to going with them? I am more concerned with more for the money than a name brand.

Thanks ,
Joey

/ Mahindra vrs JD #2  
If I were making the decision, I would be looking at the odds of the Deere dealer or the Mahindra dealer being in business 5 years, 10 years down the road. You likely will need some minor assistance with a new purchase in the first 2-5 years, with the possibility of more major help after 5 years. Parts availability is likely an issue, and upgrading potential (which includes trade-in value) is another issue worth considering.

I've made those decisions already, and everyone faces them one time or another. Good luck.

/ Mahindra vrs JD #3  
I believe that Mahindra is here to stay, They have invested a lot of money in the US market. So I would assume that both makes will be around for the next 10 years. If you want a heavy, rugged machine with a high 3 pt lift capacity that costs thousands less then go with the Mahindra. If you want a superior FEL, superior paint job, and want to be the envy of all your neighbors, then get a Deere.

/ Mahindra vrs JD #4