Need help picking a model.

/ Need help picking a model. #1  

eatenabean

Bronze Member
Tractor
MF 1643
Ok this is my first time. :D I am going to buy a tractor in a few months but I cant really get a handle on which model I need or want.

I have about 18 acres, about 6 acres are cleared and I keep them cut with a Craftsman lawn tractor. I have a 1500 foot driveway that get washed away every time it rains. I also plan on clearing more land a little at a time.

Right now I like the 1540. The dealer said he could do that for about 21,900. Some of the guys I work with that have small farms said that I need about a 40 hp and they also said if I need a 40 hp go 1 or 2 steps higher. So that would put me at getting a 1547 or 1552. I talked to the dealer and he said that at the end of the year they are going to stop making the 1547's and higher. So this got my thinking should I get the 1540 or be looking at the 1643 or 1648? My head hurts. Please help!!

/ Need help picking a model. #2  
Farming, and replacing a Craftsman lawn tractor are very different things. It sounds to me like a 1540 would be more than enough tractor to serve your needs.

/ Need help picking a model. #3  
The 1540 is a very capable machine. We have a 125 acre farm and it does everything from loader work with the bucket and forks to pulling hay implements for baling.

Personally, I think the 1540 is the best all-around mid-size tractor on the market. Glad I got it instead of the 1552 I was looking at.

/ Need help picking a model.